Head above Water

211-09-september-10th-2017

I’ve always wanted the best view from my window.

This. Cascading water. The bustle that I could ignore. The peace.

An address that read- 24/7, Head above Water Retreat, Off the Road…

It was either this or the meds. Did I really have a choice?

I was asked where I would feel good.

It was either the mountains or water.

I loved the suspended animation the mountains could give me. But the gurgle of water soothed me.

Lofty mountains and all the chance of elevated escape, or drowning in the depths of inviting water?

I could not choose.

This little retreat that bridged the canal, perched rather precariously over the river, came into view just around the corner of the leafy lane.

To Let.

I figured out a way to get there.

Now the river sighs and gurgles under me and I am perched at a height, away from it all.

Blessed peace.

The water gushes under my haven and, with renewed energy, I marvel at the magnificent torrent that surges ahead.

The ducks paddle their placid way, pleasantly surprised by the bread I toss at them, accepting this manna from heaven.

Well, I am in Heaven.

[196 Words]

Thank you, Al, for hosting the Sunday Photo Fiction. Such a lovely platform to share stories on. Thank you, A Mixed bag for the intriguing photograph.

spf

 

26 thoughts on “Head above Water

  1. There is something to be said for being near water. Luckily I am…and only rarely does it overflow its banks. Have you ever seen Frank Lloyd Wrights home ‘Falling Water’ – I think it is a museum now
    but it actually had some of the water diverted into a pool in the home. Though I don’t think I could swim in cold river water…
    https://www.fallingwater.org/history/
    if you google Frank Lloyd Wright, Falling Water there is also a link to the floor plans.

    Thanks for stopping by my post on the prompt. 🙂

Leave a Reply

