Maisie’s Muse

05-jules-paige-26-march-2017

Sunday morning. Finally. A glorious day. A getaway. All week in the cramped flat. Hardly any action. It was once a week, but enough for a girl.

He was always there before dawn to grab a hunk of bread and a chunk of cheese. His steaming mug of coffee slid across the counter and he caught it in time, before it became poetry in motion, scalding her if she wasn’t careful. Helping her to scramble into the little boat, he tossed the ropes aside and set sail, bobbing all day. They left before the others and he returned with her, spent, sunburnt and sweaty, just the way she liked him.

Gosh! He smelt so good!

Maisie felt the breeze ruffle her to distraction and turned, smiling into the wind. Her perfect profile, gorgeous brown eyes, oh, a man could drown in those limpid pools of honey. She had eyes only for him, and looked at him like no woman ever looked at a man.

The quay was deserted at this time. She could be herself, with an extra spring in her step and a joyous whimper, she found herself in his arms again.

It was only he.

And she.

Woof!

[200 words]

Sunday Photo FictionΒ is hosted by Al Forbes. Thank you Al, I enjoy this challenge immensely! Thank you, Jules Paige, for the photograph. I love it!

spf

23 thoughts on “Maisie’s Muse

  1. Your lovely words had my mind skipping along…anticipating the unfolding intrigue of the occasion….only to be pulled up short–and smiling at how effortless it is to be swept up in your writing ….you have a wonderful gift…thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

  2. a hunk of bread and a chunk of cheese… His steaming mug of coffee slid across the counter and he caught it in time, before it became poetry in motion, scalding her if she wasn’t careful.
    Woof! i am zapped. What a beautiful writer are you. I am going to stalk you like never before. Your writings, i mean. Great stuff, Sailaja.
    Hop in and read mine. Awaiting your comments.

  3. Thank you for linking up to my blog. I have yet to play with this photo yet.
    My hubby and I had some time to ourselves and if you look to the left sort of at the horizon – that building was our hotel.

    Your story makes me remember a wonderful pet I had… I don’t think she ever fetched anything but my love πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you for reading my work and letting me know what you think. I saw your beautiful photograph and my thoughts took shape after my mind ran in a good many directions. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

