Unbearable

teddy-bears

Is it Sunday already?

Time for laundry.

First the whites.

Colours next.

Four cycles.

One. Two. Three. Four.

Four. Four. Four. Four.

North-South-East-West.

Morning- Afternoon- Evening- Night.

Spring- Summer- Autumn- Winter.

Balance.

Perfection.

Four is the best of all even numbers.

Two is OK too.

But four is satisfying.

Sorting through the clothes I try to make four piles.

There aren’t enough.

Hmmm.

I walk around the house.

Sheets I changed just yesterday.

Cushion covers  I can’t throw in, they have to be hand washed.

Curtains?

No. Not on Sunday.

Curtains are slotted for Wednesday, the middle of the week, for curtains separate tranquility from the bedlam out there.

This room has not been used for years now.

I spot the bears sitting there.

One. Two. Three.

Just so.

I am not happy with three.

I did try.

Everything does not work the way I want it to.

These bears need a spin in the machine.

Now how do I do this?

The big ones go together.

Where do I put the little one?

The little one is always the problem.

Another one would’ve…

Four.

The set would have been perfect.

It’s my fault.

Four would have held everything together.

[200 words]

Sunday Photo Fiction

44 thoughts on “Unbearable

  1. OCD is not an easy thing to break out of i can understand why the room had stood empty and unchecked. To have three in there would have been devastating to the character.

    A great way of putting it across.

  2. Sailaja your writing!😍 So I read some of the comments and someone pointed out OCD. That makes sense, but I also read it as losing a fourth child, which was so heart breaking. Either way so complex, so powerful, so beautiful, so deep.
    Hope you are well friend.🌹

    1. Thank you Rachel! 😚😚😚😚😚The woman is trying to cope with grief…the loss of a child. Her OCD is a way of dealing with it. She blames herself, somehow. You are so astute, my darling, reading between the lines. ❤❤❤❤❤

        1. I’m touched. You were there for me, Rachel, months ago, encouraging me to write. Your powerful words gave me courage to express myself. I thank you from the very bottom of my heart. Your opinion means the world to me. Bless you! ❤

  3. What I’m really drawn to is the way you conveyed tone…as I read it, the person’s internal dialogue is not dripping with angst..the person seems to be emotionally detached as she(?) assesses her dilemma…a calm tone that belies the deep well of emotion that is walled up behind the quest to keep everything within her control. You really have a wonderful way of setting a mood, igniting the imagination–which allows the reader to fill in the blanks and read so much more into what you wrote…now, that takes talent!. Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

