Affirmations

Today I shall breathe slowly, deeply and consciously and welcome the air into my lungs. I shall be aware of the ancient life-healing breath pattern.

I shall dab on sunscreen and walk in the sun, feeling the warmth seeping into my pores. I shall be conscious of the life-altering energy of light.

I shall look up at the sky, absorb the brilliant blue and  trace patterns in the clouds. I shall draw good luck charms and motifs to help me on my way.

I shall stop to exchange a word with people on my lane, pat the affectionate dog that always looks up expectantly at me as if to say ‘hello’. I shall reconnect with everything and everybody. I shall try anyway!

I shall look for humour in impossible situations and laugh out loud. I shall take time to share a joke and even smile at feeble attempts.

I shall try a new recipe,  read a new book and maybe even a new hairstyle if I’m feeling particularly adventurous. Adventurous? Maybe reckless, even!

I shall order from the menu what appeals to me, and not stop at salads with the dressing on the side.

I shall treat myself to dessert, a huge slice of sinful chocolate cake with decadent ganache frosting. Maybe even coconut cake with cream cheese icing.

I shall dress for myself, regal and resplendent, even if I stand out like a brightly lit carousel at the hospital parking lot. I love the rustle of silk against my skin.

I shall experiment with colour, even if the rainbow resents sharing its hues and tints. I shall revel in it!

I shall write in my journal, record my thoughts, and maybe even inflict them on unsuspecting people. It feels good to share and even better to be heard. Lord save them!

I shall make a new friend and remember to call the old. Maybe even try to bridge the old and the new. And if that fails, well, I’ll cross that bridge when I get to it.

I shall send a dozen red roses to myself and  write me a love note. Maybe even sing me a love song.

I shall choose to be happy, come what may, radiate joy wherever I go.

I shall leave this place better than it was when I found it.

And that is saying a lot!cropped-img-20160504-wa0004.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Affirmations

  1. I shall send a dozen red roses to myself and write me a love note. Maybe even sing me a love song.

    I shall choose to be happy, come what may, radiate joy wherever I go.

Leave a Reply

