The Vacant Spot

Phylor

Sunday morning.

Time for breakfast at the little home café run by the oldest couple on the street.

People drove miles for a meal here.

For it was like being at home again. Without the need for conversation.

Phyllis took the orders and helped Sam out in the kitchen.

Plates laden with eggs, bacon, pancakes, waffles, toast, mashed potatoes and assorted veggies sailed out with amazing speed.

I drove as quickly as I could, hoping I could find a vacant spot easily.

I didn’t mind the walk before breakfast, but afterwards, was another deal altogether.

I stepped on the accelerator thinking of devilled eggs and hot buttered toast.

Let there be a vacant lot, dear Lord.

I spotted a vacant lot just in front of the café and eased the car in.

I could already feel the warmth from the café seep into my skin. I had my Sunday crossword ready.

All I needed now was breakfast with a pot of tea.

Praise the Lord!

*Thank you Phylor for the photograph. 😀

 

11 thoughts on “The Vacant Spot

  1. Welcome to the FFfAW challenge! We are happy you have joined us! This story is filled with anticipation for a nice hot breakfast and a space at the tables. Your writing really pulled me into the story. Great story!

  2. Enjoyed your story. I am guessing ‘lot’ means a ‘parking spot?’ Threw me off a bit there. A vacant lot made me think the parking lot was empty, not filled. Glad the narrator found their spot anyway.

Leave a Reply

